img_1975.jpg I am so excited!!! I volunteer at a local thrift store, and never fail to leave there without a purchase. As I price donations and stock the shelves, I ALWAYS find something I can’t live without!!

Today was no exception. As I put some newly priced items in the stationary aisle, there on the shelf,  I discovered a brand new Moleskine notebook!!! I have always wanted a Moleskine, but could never bring myself to pay $15 for a notebook.

But there is something about a blank page, that just gets my blood flowing and my brain tripping over words trying to escape. I have endless scraps of paper, spilling out of purses, pockets, and my night stand, with ideas that just couldn’t wait, and would shortly be forgotten, if not put to paper!

It doesn’t matter that this Moleskin is a sketchbook- what are words but small sketches of life- it was only $3-  brand new and shrink wrapped! Be still, my heart!!!

It, as the wrapper proclaims, is “the legendary notebook of Hemingway, Picasso, Chatwin.” It has been the  notebook of choice of European artists and writers for 2 centuries (even Van Gogh!)-except for a 12 year respite when the original French manufacturers closed up shop to when a publisher in Milan brought the notebooks back to life.

Also inside, were 9 little stamps, each with a quote from a renowned artist- meant to inspire- and they do! I know, I know, I must be a little wacky to be so excited over a notebook!

 This unassuming little black notebook, sitting on a thrift store shelf, showed up at just the right time in my life, when the words are flowing and need a place of permanence to flow to. My $3 bought me a little dream, and at the same time, my $3 will go toward supporting the mission of the church run thrift store.

It is the small things in life…………

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

” I know nothing in the world that has as much power as a word. Sometimes I write one, and I look at it, until it begins to shine.”       Emily Dickinson

