img_0316.jpgimg_0315.jpg

 Just thought I’d share some pix I found- still practicing getting the photos on the blog- not always successfully!!!

Below is the close up of the spreading of the chicken litter (see previous blog entry).

Above, are the perpetrators of the poo!!!! On a rare visit to a chicken house, I got to snap some photos of the almost 2,000 chicks that lived there for about 6 weeks.

I was hoping to get a series of photos as the chicks grow – because they do – and unbelievably quickly! I will try again this year. 

Moving out to the country was eye opening. We go to the supermarket, pick up our fryer, or package of Tyson or Perdue chicken cutlets, and don’t really think about where it comes from! I am learning!

When we used to summer at the shore in Delaware, we would pass by chicken factories, and even frequented a horse farm, that ran a side business of raising chickens. I used to hear stories, but never got to see what happens behind the scenes. But, now, living in the heart of chicken (and turkey) country, it’s hard to be ignorant of where your dinner originates!

I was barely a meat eater as it was, chicken and fish, and very rarely some pork loin. Lately, as I cook chicken for dinner, I have to close my mind and not think of what it is I am cooking! 

These chicks hatch and shortly there after, are delivered to a farmer’s warm, dark chicken house. There, they are well cared for, and kept warm, while they rapidly grow, for the next 6 weeks. The trucks return and the chickens are loaded into crates and stacked on an open tractor trailer. I’ve passed many a truck on the road, loaded with chickens on the way to the rendering plant. It has to be quite a shock for these birds- who have spent the majority of their life, in warm, dark surroundings, to be thrust into crates in bright daylight, and  sent hurtling down the road.

The chicks do serve a purpose tho, in their short life span. They provide jobs for many rural families, who earn their livelihood caring for them. Chickens provide a paycheck and a career for those who drive the trucks and work in the factories, and a meal for those who choose to eat them. Even their poop is useful, fertilizing crops used to feed other animals and people.

I have to admit, I still find it hard to look past their little beady black eyes, and will probably eat less chicken than I have in the past!

Every new day here is a learning experience, and I hope you don’t mind me sharing with you!!!

img_2257-2.jpg

