………………………………………………img_2246.jpg………………………………………………….

……..do people litter?? That’s an age old question that probably never will be answered.

 You would think in today’s eco conscious world, people would begin to think.

It is something I expect, and see, in the city and suburbia, but thought I would see less of in the country.

The rarely traveled, little dirt road adjacent to our property, seems to be a magnet for all types of discards. When I moved in, I filled several trash bags with all sorts of debris. Granted, alot of it was ancient trash, from old bottles (not the collectible kind!), rusty metal, scrap barbed wire, to paper, plastic, and beer cans. Things wash down the creek after a good rain, and lump up in a sodden pile at a bend in the flow of water.

Just recently, I walked the old road, and was looking down the embankment to watch the river, and saw a tv, computer and printer- piled by a tree stump! If left, nature will cover it over, as spring progresses. But, when fall and winter arrive, the trash will again appear, when it’s cover of leaves disappear.

Today, as I drove the 2.8 miles home from the main road, I counted 21 bright orange bags along the length of the road. Community service workers had apparently been thru during the week, cleaning the roadsides. Even as a newcomer, I am ashamed to think there was that much litter out there. It is amazing how trash that you may not notice from your car, can add up to 21 bags in just under 3 miles!!

 We pass some homes (and one borders our property) where people never throw anything out, they just throw it out back!! Apparently, those same folks just throw it out their car window too!

I will continue to trudge down my little road, trash bag in hand, cleaning up after others. I hope others take the hint, not just here, but everywhere.

We are stewards of this land we live on, drive through, and walk over. We should treat it with more respect.

End of lecture!!!  :>)

