This past Saturday afternoon started out warm and summery. By noon, the clouds rolled in, and I made it home just as the raindrops were pelting my windshield. Any plans for putting the plants in the ground were shot. I had just bought 2 boxes of wonderful vegetables and flowers from a Mennonite family selling by the side of the road. I also got a rain gauge from the $1 aisle in Target to replace the one that cracked over the winter! I didn’t even have time ot get it in the ground before the skies opened up!

It was definitely a welcome rain, and when it stopped, I put the rain gauge out in the front garden-to-be. Later in the afternoon, it started to rain again, and continued on for a few days. We got two inches the first day, and a total of 5  1/2 inches (if my gauge is accurate) over the next few days!

The fields are loving it – the hay is having a growth spurt- which will make it more than ready for the first cut end of this month. The river is fast flowing  with mini waterfalls – very mini, but there nonetheless! The horses are covered with mud, and when I brush them, the remains of their winter coat comes off with the mud. The birds are building nests, and that winter coat will end up lining some nests. The mayapple’s star shaped leaves are starting to cover the woodland floor, the redbud trees are sprouting tiny leaves amid their bright blooms.

After the rain, the trees in the National  Forest surrounding us, filled the gaps with green as all their leaves popped out. Our flowering pear trees lining the drive have all bloomed and sprouted leaves, giving us a glimpse of the canopied allee that will be, a few years from now. The gravel drive pictured above is at Oatlands Plantation in Leesburg. My driveway has a while to go before it looks like that!!

I have been cautioned tho, to wait til May 15th to plant my garden. That is advise I will adhere to, since we just had frost the night before last. I am soooo impatient to get these gardens up and running, but will just have to be content  busying myself with all the other things that need to be done around here!!

And on that note, I will step AWAY from the computer, and get busy!

All is well, and sunny, at Mountain Meadows today!

 

