$5 baskets, antlers, and Moldavian carving

$5 baskets, antlers, and Moldavian carving

I confess!! I am an addict! I have a sickness- and it involves collecting STUFF!

Another $1 yard sale find - totally useless, and hard to keep up on the wall - but I love it!!

Another $1 yard sale find - totally useless, and hard to keep up on the wall - but I love it!!

I once had an outlet for this sickness, when I had my little antique shop. Now that we live out in the boonies, my collection overflow ends up on eBay! But, alot of my finds have now found a place in my home, and with the exception of appliances, a couch, a bed, and dining room table, everything else has been a 2nd hand find! I do have a weakness for “smalls”- little collectible chochkies, doodads, dust collectors!!! Those are finding their way to new homes thru the magic of eBay!! As I get older (aagghh!), I want less dust, and less clutter. And I know, if anything happened to me, all my valuable collectibles would be tossed by the husband, or given to Goodwill!! I have taken to labeling things on the bottoms, so my daughter will know what things are and their potential worth!!! I thought I would share some of my favorite, fabulous finds- you CAN decorate with “pre-owned” things, that have withstood the test of time, and save loads of money!!! The baskets above are just two of many! The great little picnic basket on the bottom, came complete with all the original plastic dishes. The retired Longaberger above, still has the price tag from my shop, but it’s a keeper!! Baskets are great storage – they hide a multitude of sins and clutter!
Great little bookcase with my Roseville pottery ($2.50 find!) and Glenfiddich Farm pottery by the  great Richard Busch
Great little bookcase with my Roseville pottery ($2.50 find!) and Glenfiddich Farm pottery by the great Richard Busch. I love old pottery, but do have a weakness for Richard’s creations!!! When my fireplace is completed,  my Glenfiddich collection will be on the mantle! If you get a chance, check out his website for wonderful salt fired stoneware. And if you are ever in the area, don’t miss one of his open houses – it’s worth the trip!! I wish I lived closer!! Tell him I sent ya’ !!   www.glenfarmpottery.com His website is under renovation, so if you get nothing when you click on the address, just Google Glenfiddich Farm Pottery or his name, and articles will appear!

This fabulous bureau came from an old Fairfax estate, dovetailing indicates it might be from the late 1700's, early 1800's!

This fabulous bureau came from an old Fairfax estate, dovetailing indicates it might be from the late 1700's, early 1800's!

Vintage gilt mirror theme in the master bath

Vintage gilt mirror theme in the master bath

I am of the thought that you can NEVER have too many mirrors! I am entranced by looking glasses in all shapes and forms- the older, the better!

How much has a mirror seen in its lifetime, and what sights are stored in its memories? I don’t spend too much time in front of a mirror any more, old age, sigh…… but, that doesn’t stop me from collecting them! They brighten a room, make it seem larger, and just make me wonder where they’ve been and who has stood before me, gazing into their depths!
The quietest dog in the house!

The quietest dog in the house!

I just LOVE this little guy – I found him sitting in the corner of an old junque shop- adoption fee $5!! He reminds me of a little pitbull pup. He has a few dings, is made of plaster or chalkware, but so sweet! Obviously, this little guy was playing in the dust, while I wasn’t looking – OOPS!

More fabulous finds!

More fabulous finds!

This group is my favorite, all found at different times – but still seem to work together – at least I think so!! The writing desk, magazine “rack”, and the bureau from a previous pic, were all fabulous finds from a friend who has a great eye of old stuff ( and suffers the same ‘gotta have more stuff” sickness that I do!) The chair has been with me 25 or 30 years, and is filled with horsehair- still trying to figure out how old it is. The little jade horse on the desk, was from a friend, who is a faithful reader of this blog!
Thrift store finds decorate the bathroom window (which still has its paper label ,now permanently adhered, from when the house was built!
Thrift store finds decorate the bathroom window (which still has its paper label ,now permanently adhered, from when the house was built!

There are so many things that were fabulous finds, and so many more out there – waiting to be found!!! Most old furniture was built to last, none of this flimsy, veneered, wood “look” stuff that is sold today.

I just got a wonderful old chest of drawers from a local thrift store, on caster wheels, with new ceramic drawer pulls. The husband gave it a new coat of white paint – and it is beautiful! Now, if we could only get the rest of the house finished and painted – then I could unpack all my other treasures and set them up in their new home!!!
Recently, a great magazine found its way in the mail to me- Old-House Interiors, www.oldhouseinteriors.com, it is something to check out, if you are a fan of old styles.  Now that I have finished giving you a tour of my “old stuff”, that is just what I am going to do- get some tea,  peruse the magazine, and check out all its websites for cool curtains, linens, and wallpaper to give this house character!
All is well at Mountain Meadows on this fine Sunday afternoon……………………..
