Pickin’ season is upon us!!! We have been out picking blackberries at least every other day. Total 16- 20 lbs!! When you figure they sell at a farm stand or the supermarket for $3.99 for a tiny container- whew!!!!

The zukes ‘n cukes are more than we can handle – but I think they always are. You never think you’ll have enough – but there are always way too many!! Next year’s plan is a little farm stand out at the end of the driveway near the road. Take what you need, pay what you can!!!

I have 4 basketball sized watermelons in the garden- I picked one- and to my surprise, the fruit was white!! It tasted ok to me, but no one else liked it. I finally found the little info card that came with the seedlings- they are Black Diamond watermelons –  and they were NOT quite ready to be picked. The one I got was the biggest at 15 lbs – they grow to be 30-50 lbs!!! That’ll teach me – to read the label and not just grab any ol’ watermelon plant!!!

I was out weeding the sweet potatoes the other day, and all of a sudden a baby bunny came flying out from underneath the leaves, scared to death!!! He scurried across the hot black plastic covering the rest of the garden- poor baby, and ran under the fence. Funny how, as tiny as he was, he knew exactly where the escape hole was!! He hunkered down in the grassy ditch that surrounds the garden plot, and pretended to be invisible. Adorable – but he ( and his family) totally wiped out my bean plants!! I got 12 delicious beans – and the next day all that was left were stalks!!

The daughter and I spent the better part of Friday making relish, pickles, and jam. I made jam the old fashioned way, with my old fruit press. I actually have 2 of them – both thrift store finds for under $4 !! I was in the store today getting more canning jars, and saw the same presses for $28 EACH!!  I do love thrift stores!!!

Part of a 29 lb haul, minus the watermelon!

Part of a 29 lb haul, minus the watermelon!

One of 2 berry presses I found at a thrift store for under $4. Making jam the old fashioned way!!

One of 2 berry presses I found at a thrift store for under $4. Making jam the old fashioned way!!

Half a day's hard work- jam, syrup, relish, and pickles!

Half a day's hard work- jam, syrup, relish, and pickles!

Berries!!!

Berries!!!

UFO? No, spiderweb catching the early morning light during berry picking

UFO? No, spiderweb catching the early morning light during berry picking

Early morning sun coming thru the trees in the berry patch, just before the heat of the day forced us back indoors!

Early morning sun coming thru the trees in the berry patch, just before the heat of the day forced us back indoors!

Well, the zucchini awaits!! Time to get busy and turn it into bread!!!
All is well at Mountain Meadows today………………………

