The "old man" after the rain

The "old man" after the rain

It’s a beautiful day today- almost fall like. Tonite, the weatherman said it will go down to the 40’s! I am not ready for autumnal temps just yet, but these past few days are a welcome respite from the oppressive heat and humidity we have had! It has truly been the dog days of August prior to this cold snap!

After the husband mowed around my vegetable garden yesterday, and watered it, we had some torrential downpours!! If you looked toward the forest, you could see the rain approaching in sections.The winds picked up and the clouds were huge, with booming thunder in the backround.

The horses thoroughly enjoyed the rain – they got a cooling bath, and it drove the flies away. Flies have been bad lately – and fly spray and masks can only do so much. The horses’ hooves are cracked from stamping so much- and they have welts all over from the nasty horseflies. This morning – they were greeting me in a better frame of mind! I could tell they were relaxed, clean, and hungry. We didn’t need to turn on the fans, or put those pesky masks on! The clover is in full bloom, so the “old Man” drools like an open water faucet! When he first saw the “water” in the feed bin, and the huge puddle outside the stall, the husband thought we had a leak in the new barn! He could not believe the “water” was the “old Man’s” clover flavored drool!!!

I hope the cool weather holds out thru Thursday. We have to move a truckload of stuff that day – and I hope it isn’t hot and muggy!! I am reopening a condensed version of my little antiques shoppe in a booth at a local antiques mall. Since moving here, and closing my other shop, I have been selling on eBay. It’s been fun, but this opportunity arose, and I miss having an actual shop! I will also enjoy getting most of the inventory out of the house!!! I’ll continue to sell on eBay, when our server allows the computer to work (!), but am going to enjoy being back in the public again.

A display in the old shop

A display in the old shop

I do miss that old shop - time to start anew!

I do miss that old shop - time to start anew!

All is well, and cool, at Mountain Meadows this afternoon………………………………..
