…..and a dream is all it is!!!! The past couple of days have been in the upper 60’s – warm, sunny and breezy!!

Yesterday, we were  out front planting bulbs, and I could feel the freckles popping out on my face from the warmth of the sun!!!

We took our annual family Christmas photo, sans snow, with the lot of us in shirtsleeves and squinting into the sun!

That said, we will probably be punished with a blast of frigid air for the rest of the winter!

The horses have shed their blankets for a few days, and are revelling in rolling in the mud. They were out grazing today, on the few remaining tufts of green grass, and I stood along side of each one, currying and brushing the mud out, and removing twigs and burrs from their tails and manes.  The ‘old man’  gave me a sidelong glance and kept trying to inch away from me.  He seems to prefer the disheveled and dirt clod look!!

I delivered some cookies and hot chocolate to the neighbor-as I drove over, one of the local radio stations was having a Flatts and Scruggs marathon (think The Beverly Hillbillies theme song!)- non stop Christmas carols are over with, thank goodness!!!

img_4676

The daughter, husband and I went to the river to finally cut down “my” hornets’ nest!!! Husband drove the tractor into the river, daughter and I were in the bucket – and we cut the nest down. Husband takes great delight in raising the bucket sky high, as I cower in the bottom- I hate heights!!! I got the nest just in time – it looks like birds have been pecking away at it- maybe hornet larvae(is that what they are called?) are tasty morsels for some birds.

The nest is quite an amazing piece of work – to think that tiny little insects can work together to make something so intricate, weatherproof, and huge!!! I would have left it there, but it was not in the best location- great for the hornets, apparently, but not for swimmers or passersby!

I have it enclosed in a trash bag, and thoroughly sprayed it. If there are any dormant insects, that will hopefully rid the nest of them – and I will have to figure out where to display the nest. I will wait til spring tho – to make sure  no hornets come to life inside!!!

img_4740

img_4746The view inside the hive is above!

amazing outer wall

amazing outer wall

Here are some more shots of life at Mountain Meadows during Christmas week:

oak leaf in the river

oak leaf in the river

Xmas Eve sky

Xmas Eve sky

img_4701

my church, my pew, my view

my church, my pew, my view

All is well at Mountain Meadows this Christmas week – Happy Holidays to all!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Please be sure to check out my Etsy shop- I’m adding new things every day!!!

