I’ve been spending alot of time indoors lately – it’s been very cold!!! No snow – just cold!!! Tomorrow night the temps are supposed to dip to about 6 degrees, and the night after 2 degrees!!! Yikes!!! Could be worse – I could live in the midwest!!!

Maybe I will  pull out the horses’ winter blankets tomorrow- just for nighttime!!

I was in the barn the other day, waiting for the farrier, and making room in the front of the barn. I brought the horses in, closed the doors and turned on the lights, to make it a little warmer – if that was at all possible!!!

I pulled out two bins of wood (the husband keeps extra in the barn for fire starters) and as I was pulling them outside – they started erupting with little mice!!! The mice had made homes in the bins of wood – and this giant monster human was disturbing their lilliputian world! It was the funniest thing – and of course, you know, I had no camera with me!!!! The mice would scurry to the tops of the wood piles and look over their shoulders at me – and leap out of the bins!! It was like a scene from the Titanic!

I have learned NOT to leave the wheelbarrow with manure in the barn – the mice get in and make tunnels, burrowing under the stuff! It is quite a rude awakening for the little guys – and quite a leap to escape – when the manure is dumped in the bucket of the tractor, and transported across the field to be dumped!!

In this cold weather, the mice hunker down wherever they can – even if it means in piles of manure!!!

The horses are going thru bales of hay at top speed this winter – building up body heat for the cold nights.

I looked out the window tonite, just before dusk – and there was one lone doe – out back – where I put out corn – nuzzling around in the grass – looking for an early dinner. She would stare up at the windows- I’d like to think she was telepathically letting me know the cupboard was bare! But, realistically, she was watching the dogs stare out the window at her- trying to determine if they were really a threat!!!

So, I bundled up, ran out with the last of the corn – of course, when the garage door opened – she was off like a flash!  The phrases ‘turn tail and run’ and  ‘by leaps and bounds’  describe her quick exit perfectly!!

I feel like I ignore the horses a bit, when it is this cold. I will just have to tough it out, bundle up and get outside a little more. They seem to enjoy it when I am in the barn. Today I cleaned the stalls and the horses, dragged some more bales of hay down from the loft, and topped off their water trough. Tomorrow, I will probably let them out into the hay fields for awhile, to search out the last of the green grass. If it’s not too bitter cold, I’ll get that trusty camera and take pictures, while keeping an eye on the horses- 2 birds with one stone!!!

Here are some photos from the last few days:

Barn art in the snow! All 3 flakes of it!

Barn art in the snow! All 3 flakes of it!

Wall art in town - I want it!!!

Wall art in town - I want it!!!

Morning fog clinging to tree tops

Morning fog clinging to tree tops

Can you see our feral feline?

Can you see our feral feline?

We get alot of rainbows!

We get alot of rainbows!

Farm debris complete with cobwebs

Farm debris complete with cobwebs

Did you know – if you have cobwebs in your barn – leave them there – farm lore says, if one of the animals has a cut – grab a handful of cobwebs and slap them on the cut to stop the  bleeding. Hope I never have to find out if this is true!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All is well at Mountain Meadows tonite, peaceful and cold…………………


