I have been waiting for snow to  fall!!! There is no reason, in my mind, for it to be bone chillingly cold – without SNOW!!!

Finally, we got some – altho’ for all the hours it snowed, the amount was not too impressive!!! The grass is still peeking thru the layer of frozen stuff. In the afternoon, the snow turned to sleet, and altho’ I haven’t ventured out yet this morning -I’m guessing everything is a sheet of ice!  The schools are closed again today and the traffic seems minimal to non existent on the country road near my house.

Yesterday, the horses tottered into the barn on hooves that were packed with softball sized snowballs! They were like 4 legged ballerinas with a drinking problem!!! I felt so bad for them – and with much effort – picked out the snowballs, which were imbedded with hay, manure and rocks! Attractive, I know……………

Several people have told me to spray PAM, on the horses’ hooves, and that would keep the snow from sticking. Well, the daughter tried it – doesn’t work!!! The snow is just too wet. As soon as they go back outside – they start building up the snowballs again. It’s like icy platform shoes – the ‘old man’ went from 15/3 to almost 16 hands after circling the paddock!!!

I went for a walk yesterday, hoping to be the first out – to check the footprints in the snow. Except for one set of tire tracks down the old road – some adventurous soul already crossed the river in their car, I was the only set of human prints around.

The birds made zentangles in the snow, searching for any cracked corn the deer  left behind from the night before. The deer did not show up for dinner before or during the snowfall, their footprints are nowhere to be found. I guess they decided to hunker down in the woods and sleep out the storm.

Came across some rabbit tracks, and those of the feral cat who lives here somewhere. I left some lovely imprints in the virgin snow – as I found the ice hidden under the snow on the road, landing ungracefully on it!  When a wanderer falls in the woods, and there is no one there to hear it, does she make a sound?????? LOL

As I was wandering and taking pictures, I apparently disturbed a squirrel taking a potty break. Very perturbed, ( and wouldn’t you be?), this little squirrel scrambled out of his nest and loudly and virulently cursed me in squirrel-ese, as he raced to the top of a neighboring tree, safely out of reach of this ‘intruder’!! The huge fox squirrel hung bat like on the side of the tree, motionless, until I was safely out of his sight!

A pair of white crowned sparrows, hunkered down under the chair on my little bird feeding deck. I had poured some seed under the chair, away from the snow, and they took full advantage of the cover and the food, hanging around for quite some time, ignoring the huge human trying to take pictures of them thru the glass!

My church pews have a new cushion of ice glazed snow, very pretty, but not very comfy!

The temperatures are going up a little today – but it is still gray and cold outside. After I finish this post, I am going to slide to the Post Office and then spend the rest of the day inside, crocheting little treasures for my Etsy shoppe!!

White crowned sparrow feasting under the chair.

White crowned sparrow feasting under the chair.

Birds eating the deer corn- this is all the snow we got!!!

Birds eating the deer corn- this is all the snow we got!!!

Snow covered teasel

Snow covered teasel

The barn - before I left footprints on the driveway - for all the snowing it did, we did not get alot!

The barn - before I left footprints on the driveway - for all the snowing it did, we did not get alot!

Found metal object in the snow (vintage radiator coil)

Found metal object in the snow (vintage radiator coil)

img_5061

Squirrel nest with wet spot- he was interrupted mid-potty!

Squirrel nest with wet spot- he was interrupted mid-potty!

Can you spot the angry squirrel clinging bat- like in the tree?

Can you spot the angry squirrel clinging bat- like in the tree?

All is well at Mountain Meadows on this snow glazed afternoon…………


