The son finally got his dream- after working for several months in Washington, DC, he is now living in DC.

Not his mother’s dream, it’s true- but his.

So, when the son proudly told me that he got a year lease here, my heart dropped, while my mouth spoke ‘congratulations”. When we lived in northern Va, I had heard this neighborhood’s name mentioned on the news many times – not usually in a good way- but I am reserving judgment and trusting his!

We went for a visit yesterday – to see the new place and to help cart the last of his belongings from his old apartment to the new.

From our country home, it is a 2 hour 15 minute drive, not long in distance, but light years apart in style and atmosphere!

I must admit tho’, driving past the Kennedy Center, the Old Executive Building, the White House, and the monuments, there is a thrill being at the center of where  “IT” all happens. The culture, the museums, the politics, the people – all exciting – I see why the son loves it! I am a country girl at heart tho – and the big city- any big city – might be a nice place to visit, but……..

It is then, still odd to me, that the son would turn out to be such an urbanite, with a talent for numbers (I am mathematically inept), and an avid interest in politics and the goings on of the world. He has, with his gentle nudging and sometimes dry, wry, and satirical humor, pushed me into new areas of interest that I would have never thought of investigating before.  Where I was once the teacher of a small boy, that small boy has grown to become the educator of my sometimes stagnant mind.

After climbing 4 flights of stairs numerous times unloading his belongings from the van, walking anywhere was not what I really wanted to do. But, we did, to get lunch- altho the son’s  interpretation of 2 blocks seemed more like 4 or 5, as we zoomed, trying to keep up with his rapid pace!

He pointed out several places of interest as we walked, and I, like the embarrassing eternal tourist, snapped pictures with both camera and cell phone! The row houses are amazing, not dissimilar to their sister row houses/brownstones  in Brooklyn and  NYC, but not quite as bright as the painted ladies of San Francisco. Undergoing renovation during the gentrification of the area, their architectural elements and charm are being salvaged and revived. The son’s house, shared with 5 other roommates, has beautiful wood floors, pocket doors, transoms, original hardware, radiators, claw foot tubs!

Also pointed out, were the many shops the son frequents, sometimes after dark, and late at night, in this 24 hour city. He also pointed out the police car that sits, every night, with spotlight on, midway between his path from home to the grocery. I guess he meant that to be reassuring, but his dad, being a cop who used to work this area, knew what a cop car sitting there really meant!

We had a great visit, and my ‘see-scapes’ below, are basically what I ‘see’ as we drive thru downtown DC!

We left, with the promise to return soon, to do a tour of the museums. I was torn with leaving the son, but knew we had to leave, and my mountains were drawing me home.

About 9pm last evening, the son called as he was on his way home from his late night grocery run – “Remember that alley I pointed out, where the cop always sits?” Well, as he was walking home, he described to me the scene, where now, there was not just the one cop car, but many, with spotlights on- the area bright as daylight and 8 little numbered markers spread out in that alley. Since he was seemingly undeterred by the reality of his neighborhood, I did caution him with motherly concern, to please limit the number of late night walks. At least, if he ventures out tonite – and he will – he should approach the officer and ask what did happen last night- forewarned is forearmed – so to speak.

I am working on an altered art piece for his new apartment – part of it will say “Show No Fear” and “Discretion is the Better Part of Valor””!!!  LOL

img_5221

We had an eagle eye view of the Desert Storm parade many years ago, atop the Lincoln (above)

The Pencil

The Pencil

The Kennedy Center

The Kennedy Center

Driving by the White House with the Christmas tree in the foreground

Driving by the White House with the Christmas tree in the foreground

Son's row house

Son's row house

Scenes from the son’s new neighborhood:

img_5239

img_5240

Niger River Art Studio

Niger River Art Studio

Front yard art - DC style!

Front yard art - DC style!

View from son's bedroom

View from son's bedroom

img_5224

I took so many more pictures – incurable shutterbug that I am – but will save them for another post!!!

******************************

All is well, tranquil, and serene, VERY un-DC like, at Mountain Meadows this afternoon……..!

