The last day of winter came and went – spring is upon us- altho it was 20 degrees yesterday morning!!!!!

I am getting excited about this season’s plantings!! I have visions of taking my produce to the local farmers’ market! I can’t wait til the market starts up in town – I go every Saturday to check!!! Not yet tho’. I want to find out the details of joining up!!!

Last year I canned and put up way too much stuff for us to use up. It was my first year canning and freezing – we are going on our third spring here at the farm. My jellies did get totally eaten, except for the persimmon, and a couple of jars of peaches, we are about cleaned out. The freezer is still a little crowded tho’.

I figured, I could probably offer homemade scones, aprons and tote bags,til the crops start coming in. It’s a thought – the mind is always working!!!!!

Our neighbor is using part of our lower property for a garden, that I will have use of also. Years ago, the former owners had one of their gardens in this spot. Since it is a flood plain (not that it has ever flooded there in recent times) the soil is wonderful and rock free! Perfect for growing potatoes and other root veggies. Remnants of the old fence posts from the original garden are still standing, and the neighbor has a backhoe, and has been working on clearing the land.

Potatoes are planted on Good Friday I’m told – that is 3 weeks away. Last year, I attempted potatoes and sweet potatoes in my own garden. I had success with most everything I planted. But the soil is sooo rocky (we live in Rockingham Co!), that it stunted alot of the potatoes that grew – and getting them out of the ground in one piece was difficult!!! Well, this is a learn as ya’ go process!!!

I am looking forward to having a great crop of lots of different taters this year. Judy, over at http://apronstringsandothertiesthatbind.wordpress.com

gave me a great hint for planting potatoes using old tires. Fortunately, or unfortunately, our property came complete with an assortment of old discarded tires!!!! Judy said to stack ’em, fill with good composted soil, add the seed potatoes, and fill the tires with dirt as the potatoes grow. When it comes time to harvest, all you have to do is remove the tires, and there are your potatoes – easy peasy!!! I’ll be trying that too!!!

Another cool thing about the neighbor setting up a garden plot, is the above ground root cellar he has, which I can use to store my produce. It is nothing fancy – just cinderblock, but maintains a temp suitable for storing the potatoes long term. It is 2 stories, built into a hill.

My garage is filling up with potted goodies, that we couldn’t resist buying, and now have to wait til the weather is suitable to put in the ground!!! This week I have to start indoors, planting all the seed packets I bought. I have several different types of sunflowers, 4 o’clocks, moonflowers (I found seeds for that, Lennie!) all different types of cutting flowers – one can never have too many flowers!!! I have a ton of different veggies, and have culled seeds from last year’s crop and flowers. My herb garden has reseeded itself – I hope, and will be bigger this year. I just love going out to the garden to pick my dinner and my seasonings!!! The husband just 2 planted pails of lettuce, and I hope to have more.

I just have to learn how to be a better weed picker!! LOL

There is no better way to pull yourself  out of the winter doldrums, than to dream and plan your garden!!!

Bird house gourds, anyone? I have 85 for sale!!!!Cut the top off and you have a great dried flower vase!

Bird house gourds, anyone? I have 85 for sale!!!!Cut the top off and you have a great dried flower vase!

Temporary planters filled with great soil, horse and chicken manure!

Temporary planters filled with great soil, horse and chicken manure!

Garden awaiting the tiller

Garden awaiting the tiller

Mr. Green Jeans and the daughter were pounding in extra support poles for the garden's electric fence.

Mr. Green Jeans and the daughter were pounding in extra support poles for the garden's electric fence.

Neighbor's above ground root cellar-the 2nd floor will be cleaned up for a wood shop

Neighbor's above ground root cellar-the 2nd floor will be cleaned up for a wood shop

Old boiler pot in the root cellar, that I do SOOOO covet!!! Can't hurt to ask!! :>)

Old boiler pot in the root cellar, that I do SOOOO covet!!! Can't hurt to ask!! :>)

Vintage cool - door to root cellar

Vintage cool - door to root cellar

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All is well at Mountain Meadows this Sunday morn, and dreamin’ of spring………

