My brain is just swimming with all the spring things I want to accomplish today and the days that follow!!!

Things are turning green, and blossoming, and the almost 2 inches of rain the other day just revitalized everything!!The river is flowing and I can hear its song from my porch. The peepers have come alive and join the river in a nightly chorus. I find something new to take a picture of every day- Patty took some great photos (she always does) while here for tea. It is always eye opening to see my world thru someone else’s lens. Click on her name to see her view of my view!

Today, as soon as I extricate myself from the mesmerizing grip of this computer (!), I am heading out to the garden to make a brick wall around my tiger lilies and peonies. Out of the dust and rubble of the old house are salvageable  bricks from the chimney. Out of the dust and ash of that old house fire, new life arises. I was so afraid the ancient peonies were gone forever after that burn. But, nature never ceases to surprise me. The grape hyacinths are up, the tiger lilies’ green shoots are everywhere! The irises are following close behind, and the quince, altho severely damaged by the blaze, has managed to bloom! The old purple lilac bush may not have  been so lucky, but its white lilac cousins are sprouting up everywhere along the old road. So, I will attempt to make a brick border around the blooming babies, and put in a light layer of mulch- since last year proved weeding is not one of my many talents!

Also on today’s to do list is to help the husband mark the perimeter of the new pole barn he will be building in the coming weeks. Haying season is fast approaching, and the first cut promises to deliver about 600+ bales from the front of our property! An empty stall and a garage are definitely NOT enough to hold all that hay!! So, time to build a barn!!! Since we appear to becoming hay farmers, the proper facilities are in order!

Yesterday, the daughter and I went to look at yet another miniature horse. We have been looking to adopt one as a companion for the big guy and the old man, and have seen several cute ones. But for one reason or another, the deal has fallen thru.

This little beauty might just work out. I hope I don’t jinx it by showing a picture, but she is adorable!!!! After a followup visit this week by her owner, to see if our barn passes muster, if they can still bear to part with her, I am hoping she will be ours soon.

Such a sweetie!!!

Such a sweetie!!!

She is about 30 inches tall (at the shoulder)

She is about 30 inches tall (at the shoulder)

What the inside of our new pole barn will look like- 3 sided to store hay and tractor

What the inside of our new pole barn will look like- 3 sided to store hay and tractor

I read a line in Mary Jane’s Farm magazine – ” A recession is capitalism’s way of getting you to grow a garden.” Eleanor Roosevelt did it at the White House, and now Michelle Obama is doing it. And that’s about as political  or inflammatory as I will get in this blog!  I moved out here to do just that – grow my own food, become more self sufficient, and now that times are harder, it just enforces that resolve to try to do more ourselves with what we have here. Living in the midst of this small agrarian town is inspiring.

It takes me back to my Quaker roots  hundreds of years ago, a much simpler time to be sure. I am looking forward to getting out and planting, being a little less lazy, a little less dependent on others to supply me what I can supply for myself. I’ll keep you posted here, on how I do!!!!!

And, if you want a kick in the butt to get you moving to be more self sufficient, visit my brother’s blog- he posted an interesting article on how the farmer is viewed in today’s society.

Time to get out there and get busy!!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~All is well and sunny at Mountain Meadows this morning

