Sunday was a beautiful day to work outside! Warm and sunny, so I started out early in the barn. Took 2 of the dogs out with me, and a cup of tea, and started with the horses. Blankets off, breakfast, some work with the brush and shedding blade. then the hard stuff- getting the 100 lb bag of grain out of the van and stored away in the feed bin.

Since the husband has had shoulder then wrist surgery, he can’t do any heavy lifting (or at least shouldn’t when someone is keeping an eye on him!) So, I drove the van over to the barn, got the dolly and slid the bag out onto the dolly and dragged it up into the barn. I tried to count how many scoops of grain are in 100 lbs, as I scooped it out into the storage bin, but it was too early in the morning for that- lost count after about 5…..!!!!

My tiny mint garden on the side of the barn has about 25-30 new little mint stalks coming up. I weeded that and then it was time to move on to the other garden!

After the old house burn last year, I was afraid  the original farm flower garden was ruined. But, out of the ashes…….The tiger lilies are coming up and the peonies are back! Since I know weeding is not my specialty, I decided to make a brick border around the flowers and fill in with mulch.

The husband told me to take the 4 wheel cart to load up bricks, but I was going to use the wheelbarrow. The cart would have been too heavy to pull- as it turned out, the wheelbarrow didn’t work either – even with just a few bricks in it – the wheel got stuck in the ash, and started to tip over! So, it was back to hand carrying the bricks, 5 at a time (I am a frail thing!)

I am not quite finished, need about 35 more bricks- but now I have to really dig for them in the rubble. So, I will finish that another day!!!

The old farmer who used to own this property said there were rhubarb plants all over the place. I think I may have found just one – which would have been right outside their old farm house door. I pulled the weeds and grass off it, and marked it with some bricks. Now if anyone out there can verify this is REALLY rhubarb, I would appreciate it!!! Since I have only seen it prepackaged in a supermarket, I am pretty sure it is rhubarb, but would like a 2nd opinion!!!

The bees are awake and checking out the tiny wild flowers that are blooming- I tried to get a picture of the two kinds that were flying around – but every time the camera would make a noise – they would move out of the frame!!! So the picture below are kind of a ‘where’s waldo’ – see if you can find the bee!!!

The husband drove the small lawn mower around the hay fields marking off the groundhog holes. He and the neighbor will be filling them up with river rock. Their holes are a danger to the horses and bone jarring when a tractor wheel falls in one!

After lunch, I helped the husband mark off the spot where the new pole barn will be. He and the daughter will be building it, and hopefully have it finished before the first hay is cut and baled! Those 600 bales of hay need to be stored somewhere!!

The day ended with a visit from the owners of the miniature horse. They liked what they saw, and the little mare will be delivered to us sometime soon!!!! Can’t wait!!!!

Time to get off the computer and get busy with morning chores….

100_3152

My new star for the barn - thanks, Lennie!!!

My new star for the barn - thanks, Lennie!!!

Birdhouse on the barn

Birdhouse on the barn

Bird house on other side of the barn!

Bird house on other side of the barn!

Here are the bricks...................

Here are the bricks...................

Even with this few bricks, the wheelbarrow got stuck in the ash!

Even with this few bricks, the wheelbarrow got stuck in the ash!

Just getting started.............

Just getting started.............

Where's Waldo?

Where's Waldo?

Rhubarb?

Rhubarb?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All is well, and a little less sunny, a little more drizzley, at Mountain Meadows this morning………………………….

