That Green Acres theme song is running thru my head again!!!

I spent the better part of Easter Sunday outside- it was a beautiful warm day.

While driving down the road on an errand, a turkey flew out and over my car, and a fox squirrel narrowly missed becoming road kill as he scurried in front of me! The woodpeckers were tapping and calling to each other, the occasional  Canadian goose could be heard from ponds hidden in the woods. The trees all have buds, and the farmer’s fields are a verdant hue, a welcome relief from the gray of winter.

When I returned home, I hung out with the horses – the new little mini, Lilliput is just so adorable, and very imprinted on humans. She follows me around like a big dog!

Got some seeds in the ground – anemones, mammoth sunflowers, and am soaking hyacinth beans and moonflowers. Weeded out the front garden, and uncovered last year’s peonies that are coming up.

Took the dogs for a walk, and then later, walked back by myself, camera in hand, to get pix of all the woodland wildflowers that are popping up along the road’s edge. Managed to lose my glasses in the process – clipping them to my shirt with a clothespin was clever, but not too secure, apparently! I retraced my steps, but, the woods ate them up…………….

I was looking for the wild asparagus that is rumoured to grow here, but was unable to locate any. Morels are in season also, but have no clue where to find those!

The red bud are blooming, the wild dogwood have flowered, and the thorn bushes that cover everything they can crawl over, are sprouting little green leaves.

Spring is definitely in the air, and hopefully the last frost will come and go soon, so the gardeners in us all can be let loose on the soil!

The underground spring( complete with frog) that will soon be turned into a pond

The underground spring( complete with frog) that will soon be turned into a pond

Quince in bloom

Quince in bloom

The vegetable garden has been plowed and is almost ready to go!

The vegetable garden has been plowed and is almost ready to go!

Dandelion tea, anyone?

Dandelion tea, anyone?

With warm weather and all that is good, comes some bad - flies!!!

With warm weather and all that is good, comes some bad - flies!!!

Lilly, bathed in the glow of the setting sun...

Lilly, bathed in the glow of the setting sun...

Forest flowers

Forest flowers

Blood root? Anybody know?

Blood root maybe? Anybody know?

100_3241

Another one I have to look up!

Another one I have to look up!

100_3253

End of nature walk..............thanks for coming!!!

End of nature walk..............thanks for coming!!!

All is well at Mountain Meadows, waiting for rain and spring…………….

