As the dandelions fold and close up their sunny countenance, and the bees buzz low to the ground, the geese announce their flight overhead trying to make it to the river before the sun disappears over the mountain top.

I am sitting in my newly made secret alcove in the garden, with the pine tree hiding me from view. The church pew has been carried to its final destination today, in a tiny hideaway cut out of the underbrush. Surrounded by honeysuckle, and wild thorn bushes, this little spot will become my place to sit and reflect on the day. Any time of the day in here is wondrous, but there is something special about dusk, when the birds are filling the trees, safely hidden, in their nighttime roosts, singing their goodnight lullabies to all who will listen.

There is a peace in there, where for a short time, the worries of the world, the news of the day, the chatter of tv, radio, and din of traffic are lost and forgotten. In a world of bad news, pirates, tea ‘parties’, and money woes, this little sanctuary will hopefully buoy my spirits up. At the very least, it will shield me from the cacophony of a world gone mad, if only for a little while.

The little hollow under the trees is my cave, my sanctuary, a work in progress. I can picture it in a month or so, with the native flowers emerging(trillium and lily of the valley), the heavy scent of honeysuckle in the air, and the surrounding greenery in full bloom.  The rock border is in place (altho not in this picture), and as the work progresses and the flowers bloom, I’ll share more pictures.

In today’s uncertain world, I wish you all a sanctuary to renew your soul…..

Step #1- bench in place, Step#2 flowers, cushions, cup of tea.....

Step #1- bench in place, Step#2 flowers, cushions, cup of tea.....

All is well at Mountain Meadows tonite…………………


