Well, the farmers say to never plant before May 15th – there’s sure to be one last frost. They were right – altho off by a few days!

A couple of days after the 15th, the night temperature dropped. Gardens all around suddenly sprouted boxes, milk cartons, pails and whatever else could be used to cover tender plantlings!

I did learn something tho – you can protect certain plants from the frost by covering them, but you CANNOT protect them from the cold! Out of 30 tomato plants, I lost 26 to the cold. They were all covered, but coldness still gets thru.

So, today, I was back at the co-op, picking out new tomato varieties, and a couple of other plants. One of the employees joked about getting me a greenhouse discount!! I thought about it on the way home – I am going to ask if he was kidding or not!! If such a thing exists, I want it!!!

At the co-op, I met up with the farmer who runs the small local farmers’ market – and I’m in!! Woohoo!! Without a greenhouse, I really don’t have any veggies to sell until mid summer, but cut flowers, plantlings, a couple of birdhouses, my tea related items and scones will be what I have to offer. We’ll see how it goes. It’s a small town, small market, and a bad economy. But, I am getting my feet wet in the market, and if last year’s garden was any indication – I will have way too much stuff for my own family, so hopefully I can offer it to the public at a very reasonable price.  If I can make just enough to put toward next year’s garden, I’ll be a happy camper!!!
Next year I hope to grow some of what is on everybody’s wish list around here – asparagus, berries, rhubarb. I have lettuce, broccoli, onions, beets, carrots,corn, potatoes-white, red and sweet, blackberries galore, the usual cukes, zukes, and beans, eggplants, squash blossoms, a wide variety of herbs. Next year will be more herbs, lavender, sunflowers, and drying flowers. It should be fun!!

Right now we are in the middle of building a pole barn to hold the hay we sell. The first cut is due in a week or so, weather permitting. The barn should have a roof by then!!

In the middle of all this, I am walking the dogs, taking Miss Lilly out for walks also – to improve her ground manners!!Miss lilly is our miniature horse.

The daughter and I walked Miss Lilly down to the river the other day. she has never seen water in that form before!! We came to a little riverlet, and she flat out refused to put her tiny little hooves in it!! Since we were moving forward, she gave a mighty leap and sailed over the 3 inch wide water!!! She looked at the river, gave it a taste, and was ready for the walk back home. She is sooo cute, and I’m hoping as time progresses, we can order the harnesses and figure out how to train her to pull a cart.

Miss Lilly and her 2 big men!

Miss Lilly and her 2 big men!

Kids, don't try this at home!!!

Kids, don't try this at home!!!

This is what happens when the husband asks the wife to THROW him up a crowbar!!!

This is what happens when the husband asks the wife to THROW him up a crowbar!!!

Kildeers' one egg in the driveway......

Kildeers' one egg in the driveway......

*************************************

All is well and busy, at Mountain Meadows this fine, sunny day…………


