I generally don’t go to auctions, I don’t have the patience to sit thru til the end. Invariably, the item I covet, is not auctioned off til the end of the day!

My parents used to frequent auctions in the midwest all the time. They got some great deals. I went to one with them, in Illinois, more than 30 years ago. I bid for the first time on some vintage duck decoys, and got one. I still have him!!!

Yesterday’s auction was for the estate of the elderly man, Willard, who used to own our property. My husband had become attached to the old guy, and used to stop in on his way home from work to visit and check up on him.  Willard died a few months ago, and his family has been working thru his vast accumulation of stuff, to get the house ready for sale.

His sister and her children are the last of the family, and it was hard on her to watch people going thru her brother’s things and tromping thru his house. But she stuck it out til the end.

It is sad when our lives, and all we were, end up on the auction block. But we all accumulate so much STUFF over the years, and ya’ can’t take it with you! So, I guess there are 3 sure things in life – death, taxes, and auctions!! Remember George Carlin’s diatribe about “Stuff”?

My husband was going to bid on the square baler, but it went too high. All the farm equipment went really well and high!!! There was a lively bidding war between a farmer and a woman over a popular piece of New Holland farm equipment (I have no idea what it was used for!) The woman won out- paying $1,850 for it!!! After she won, she turned to her dad – and said, “I hope you’re happy – we got it!!!”

The auction started promptly at 9am, as promised, the farm equipment went at 10:30am, and we left before the house went up for bids at noon. One of the local churches served food- the apple pie was delicious!!

Auctions are kind of a social event for the local folk. Everyone knows everyone else in a small town, and some just come for the cameraderie, not the bidding. And of course, there is always a smattering of dealers, who drive the prices of the antiques up with their bidding.

I did bid on a quilt on the first wagon of items. I have no patience – there were other nicer quilts in with the furniture, but I knew those prices would be higher, and the bidding wouldn’t be until later in the day. And, it was getting hot!!!

Willard’s wife had quite a nice selection of quilts, starched linens, and stitcheries. According to the neighbors, she had done quite a bit of quilting, til she got diabetes, and lost her vision. Kind of a sad story. But I hope her family kept some of her handiwork.

The quilt I won, was not the prettiest there – but sturdily made and very simply machine quilted. It is feed sack, which is what attracted me to it, and the backing is  all bleached feed sack- some of the printing is still legible.

Here are some pictures of the day – and some of the treasures I DIDN’T get- altho’ I would have loved some of the mixing bowls, the 1860’s leather bound Bible, and the 30 gallon copper pot that was discovered in the attic!


Auctioneer Charlie Whetzel starts the auction

Auctioneer Charlie Whetzel starts the auction

100_3760

Pieces of a life......

Pieces of a life......

100_3763

100_3764

100_3765

The square baler we didn't get

The square baler we didn't get

100_3771

Oh, I wanted that milk crock and the set of mixing bowls!!!

Oh, I wanted that milk crock and the set of mixing bowls!!!

100_3775

30 gallon copper lined pot that was squirreled away in the attic!

30 gallon copper lined pot that was squirreled away in the attic!

1860's leather bound family Bible that was purchased from an antiques dealer in 1975 for $37.50! I wonder what it sold for!

1860's leather bound family Bible that was purchased from an antiques dealer in 1975 for $37.50! I wonder what it sold for!

My purchase - the feed sack quilt

My purchase - the feed sack quilt

close up of some of the blocks

close up of some of the blocks

Some of the lettering from the bleached sacks is still legible

Some of the lettering from the bleached sacks is still legible

(see my other blog for quilt details)

**********************************************

All is well, and sunny, at Mountain Meadows this fine Sunday morn……..


