Last night, I had everything baked, wrapped, and ready to go, for this morning’s Farmers Market. The fog was as thick as pea soup at 5:30am, and the weather forecast was dismal.

I went back and forth between should I go, or should I not? Note to self, get phone numbers of the other vendors, to see what’s up! I am, apparently, a fair weather “farmer”, at best!

The daughter went into work and called at 7:30am to let me know it was raining in Broadway. Soooo, guess I ‘m not going to sell at the market, and  by a little before 9am, it was pouring here, so it’s a no go this weekend.

Took all the baked goods, and put them in a box to be mailed to my son on Monday. Somebody’s gotta eat them!!!

I am planning to be at the market next weekend, but the husband may not be able to help me – so we will have to see. I have my new canopy, and am much more organized!!! Don’t think I can raise and lower the canopy by myself tho – we need a practice run at home!! If I don’t go next weekend – it will be the following weekend for sure – I may actually have real produce by then!!! Once the gardens start producing, I’ll be out there every weekend! In these economic times, in a small town, it is easier to sell produce than lavender wands or apple pincushions!!!

By noon today, the sun was out, and the husband wanted to go to the co-op’s open house – free lunch and entertainment! Woohoo!!

We went, it was a very nice gathering of all the patrons of the co-op. For those of you who aren’t in the know (and believe me, I wasn’t in the know, til I moved here!) the co-op is the Rockingham Cooperative – the place where you get everything from farm machinery,  plants for the garden, farm supplies, animal feed and meds, and fencing.  You can also get local gossip, tips on a job, or the best place to buy something if the co-op doesn’t carry it!

Yesterday, the employees were furiously cleaning and painting and moving stuff around, to make room for the food and ice cream freezer. A little stage with a canopy for the musicians was set up outside, and straw bales for sitting lined the loading dock and parking lot. All sorts of items were on sale, the representatives from the main office and different suppliers were there with coupons and free food and drink.

The young man playing the guitar, was saying how it was so hot and humid out, that his fingers get soft and makes it more difficult to strum the guitar. He was on his break, on the long line inside to get lunch.

We got our pork sandwiches, roast beef sandwiches, mac salad and chips, and took our place on a straw bale. Ice cream sandwiches in 3 flavors were the dessert of the day~and a local country trio, or was it a quartet, serenaded us with bluegrass tunes.

I’ve begun to recognize a few faces – our neighbors were there, the lady from the thrift store, various Mennonite families, plus alot of local folk  I’ve yet to meet.

The local feeling is you don’t get much for free at the co-op, so when they are offering free lunch – you go!! I think that is just some gentle ribbing- the co-op’s the best shopping in town!!

I wanted to take more pictures – especially of the folk sitting on the straw bales, enjoying their food and their neighbors. But still being a bit of an outsider – I didn’t want to draw more attention by being intrusive and snapping too many pics! It was really a study in rural americana, hard working , regular people- not the fancy urban types you see within the Beltway or any metropolitan city or suburb. These are real people, that have been living their lives this way for generations- and it’s really not a bad way to live!

I love the co-op. As I ‘ve written before, when I first moved here, I was afraid to go in – I stuck out like a sore thumb, and felt I really didn’t fit in. And, I probably didn’t!!! I still don’t really fit in – but they know my name, and everyone is very nice and helpful – and it is one of my favorite places in town to go!!!

My dogs love it when I go there – and they KNOW when I’ve been there. They get giant dog biscuits – 4 biscuits- 3/4 lb each time. We don’t even have to weigh them any more!! Sunny even got to go in with me one time – and I could see the bells go off in his mind as he headed straight to the biscuit bin!! Soooo, this is where she gets them………….!!!

We headed home, and after stopping to rescue a box turtle sunbathing on the double yellow line(!), we  pulled in the driveway to discover the killdeer eggs on the edge of the driveway, have finally hatched! Eggs # 1 and 2  were running around, with mom frantically trying to protect them from the huge car monster.

The former occupant of egg number 3 was drying out in the hot sun, flat on the gravel, a little dazed by his efforts to break free. Egg # 4 had hatched while we were at the co-op. Number 4 was still wet  and exhausted – his little rear just clear of the egg shell.  Unlike  most other baby  birds, Killdeer hatch almost ready to run. They are fully feathered, and just need time to dry off , fluff out and recoup from the hard work of breaking thru a shell! They are a member of the plover family and look very much like the birds you see zipping along the sand on the beach.

As the hatching time grows near – the mother becomes more frantic, putting on her wounded bird act, to draw predators and nosy humans away from her nest.

When the first egg was laid, on May 20, we marked the nest with a huge orange traffic cone – so no one would run over the eggs. There is no real nest, it is just a depression in the rocks, always in the most inappropriate place – right along the edge of the driveway, too near the road for me! What are these birds thinking!?!?! Every year, we keep an eye out and search for the eggs, and mark it with a cone, much to the amusement of the neighbors, I’m sure!

We marked the calendar for the approximate hatching date from the day the first egg was laid- and it went a few days over . But, if you figured the hatching date from the day the last egg was laid – today was exactly the right day.

I’ll miss being on killdeer watch, but am relieved to be able to move the cone and not worry about someone running them over!!!

One of the baskets of goodies that did not make it to the Farmers market today!

One of the baskets of goodies that did not make it to the Farmers market today!

Big time Saturday afternoon at the co-op

Big time Saturday afternoon at the co-op

100_4109

musical entertainment

musical entertainment on the loading dock

Unappreciative, but rescued turtle!

Unappreciative, but rescued turtle!

parent Killdeer, doing the broken wing act, in an attempt to draw me away from the babies.

parent Killdeer, doing the broken wing act, in an attempt to draw me away from the babies.

Baby #3, almost ready to run. See egg #4 in the lower right corner?

Baby #3, almost ready to run. See egg #4 in the lower right corner?

#3, two hours later, with newly hatched #4

#3, two hours later, with newly hatched #4

Where's Waldo? Can you spot #2 (or is it #1) trying to blend in?

Where's Waldo? Can you spot #2 (or is it #1) trying to blend in?

Very vocal parent- when her broken wing approach didn't work on this pesky human!

Very vocal parent- when her broken wing approach didn't work on this pesky human!

Thanks for spending Saturday with me, an average day, in a small town, in rural America!!

***********************************************************

All is well, sunny (for a change) and peaceful, at Mountain Meadows this Saturday afternoon……………………



