Instead of doing the Farmers’ Market yesterday, I spent last week preparing for yesterday’s big annual Ruritan Flea. I knew there would be relatively little business at the market, because everyone would be at the Ruritan Park! The 4th of July celebration draws phenomenal crowds from all around, that sometimes show up the night before looking for bargains!

My friend and I had staked out our spot on the 25th – people were allowed to rope off their spots on the 27th – and there were spaces being marked 2 days early!  We got permission and went down and did the same. We didn’t get our coveted spot with the big tree – but since I had a canopy, it didn’t really matter. We were still in the 2nd row, first spot.

My husband had to be down there at 5am to help with the cooking, so he set up my tent. I arrived at 6:30 , and Cammie was already there with her stuff set up and the parking lot was PACKED!!!

Apparently, some of the vendors came down the night before to set up, and camped out over night with their stuff. People were stopping by to look for early bird bargains last night, and were out again before the crack of early (and apparently before daylight!) to shop! The sale was supposed to start at 7am – but obviously started hours before!!

Even without advertising, and no fireworks, the crowds were enormous, just thru word of mouth. The Ruritan Flea used to be an all day thing, with the flea market, games and food, ending with a big fireworks show. Two years ago, the price of the fireworks show went sky high (!), making it cost prohibitive for the club to put on the show. Even without that, a good time seemed to be had by all, altho the spending seemed to be a bit more cautious.

The big sellers of the day, other than food, were plants, animals, and the occasional knickknack.

If I could sell animals, and I can’t – I get too attached- I would have made alot of money! Bunnies, kittens and fowl were the big sellers of the day.

One vendor came with a trailer full of chickens, geese, baby chicks, button quail, bunnies and more – and sold every single one. I couldn’t help but worry about some of the kittens that were being toted around the grounds by small children – hoping their future would be a good one.

A sweet Mennonite lady stopped by my booth and asked me if she could leave her box with me while she shopped – and I said sure. She had bought a pair of rex bunnies, so I told her we would take good care of them. Cammie grabbed one and I grabbed the other. I got some clover and plaintain and the little bunny had a feast while in my lap.

By the time she came back to pick them up – I felt I had to give her a mini lecture on the care and lifespan of bunnies. She was appreciative, but, apparently her plan was to breed them- whether to sell or for her 4 children – I don’t know, and probably didn’t want to know!

The daughter and I walked around and picked the brains of some of the chicken dealers. We still don’t have a coop, so it wasn’t hard to have self control and refrain from buying every chicken there!! There are 2 or 3 breeds of chickens that I am leaning toward. There will be laying hens and one rooster, and when their laying days are over, they will live out their little lives on the farm – and never  “see” the inside of a cooking pot!!! LOL

It was a fun day at the park, met alot of nice people, and I sold a few things, doing a little better than I thought I would, altho not nearly as well as the animal vendors!!!

Here are a few shots of the day:

My set up

My set up

My friend always has a crowd around her booth- she sells therapeutic magnetic jewelry

My friend always has a crowd around her booth- she sells therapeutic magnetic jewelry

The rex bunnies

The rex bunnies

My apple pin cushions - apparently a frivolous item - people were more interested in buying the hanging basket they were in!

My apple pin cushions - apparently a frivolous item - people were more interested in buying the hanging basket they were in!

**********************************************************

All is well, at Mountain Meadows this Sunday morning, hoping everyone had a safe and happy 4th of July…………..

