I have seen the passing of more than 50 summers. I will not tell you how many more, but am always amazed that I have been lucky enough to have enjoyed them all.

Altho the end of summer is a sad thing for me, I look forward to the change of seasons, and can’t wait for the next summer to arrive!  I am already planning next year’s gardens, and hopefully there will be enough money and health to be able to accomplish that dream!

I was flipping thru the latest issue of one magazine – and the cover had a cake for Halloween and was filled with hearty soup recipes, gourds, ornamental cabbage, and   fall fashions.  Summer’s end is here.

The heat and humidity is still in the air, but it has a different feel to it. I can’t explain it, but the smells, sounds and feel of late August, have hints of autumn sprinkled about.

Mother Nature cannot be stopped from her appointed rounds. She will throw a surprise in the mix, from time to time, but never will she let summer take the place of fall and winter.  They all have their place in time, to be enjoyed for what they offer.

So, I will enjoy the last few days of summer while I can, and look forward to the fall, all the while planning for next year’s summer!!

100_5144100_5141

Last corn of the season.....

Last corn of the season.....

Mother Nature played a trick and rained - 175 ruined squares........

Mother Nature played a trick and rained - 175 ruined squares........

Surveying the end of her 7th summer

Surveying the end of her 7th summer

The very last harvest

The very last harvest

Farmers taking a break (taken at a great distance thru a screen window)

Farmers taking a break (taken at a great distance thru a screen window)

****************************************************

All is well, and foggy, at Mountain Meadows this Saturday morning…….

