Still digging up potatoes,, waiting on the carrots and parsnips to get a bit bigger, finished with the tomatoes, and getting ready to plant more lettuces, chard, broccoli and cauliflower. We finished the last of the hay, and half way thru loading the bales, the rains came down. It turned horse hay into individually wrapped cow meals! Mother Nature always has the last laugh, and she was roaring that day…………………..

Been riding the horses, if we can get out there before the flies wake up. As it gets nearer to fall, flies will be the one thing I won’t miss about the end of summer!!!!

Miss Lilly has taken to looking for every opportunity to escape. I must get a video of her gleeful gallop around the hay field when she gets out!!! She did it again this morning. I plopped the saddle on John, but had not turned around to lock the stall door – that little vixen rushed by me, nosed that door open and trotted to the barn door. With a ‘catch me if you can’ look over her shoulder at me – she flew out the door, and ran for greener pastures!!! In the time it took to catch her,”the big guy” had shaken off his saddle, and was getting ready to poop on it, when I dragged the unwilling Miss Lilly back in!! Some days, ya’ wonder if it is all worth it……………….!!!

Anyway, there is so much to tell, but I will skip the words and just show the pictures- a picture is worth a thousand words…………….and all that!!!!

outbuildings

outbuildings

1st harvested sunflower

1st harvested sunflower

unloaded 1st wagon

unloaded 1st wagon

This was the wagon I unloaded!

This was the wagon I unloaded!

Just a hat.................

Just a hat.................

I really do work, on occasion!!! I unloaded this whole wagon - dd & dh stacked it

I really do work, on occasion!!! I unloaded this whole wagon - dd & dh stacked it

100_5267100_5266

Salting the damp hay to draw the moisture out............

Salting the damp hay to draw the moisture out............

DONE!!!!

DONE!!!!

DD driving the  tractor to return the hay wagon

DD driving the tractor to return the hay wagon

Neighbor finishing up to do his final round bales on our field.

Neighbor finishing up to do his final round bales on our field.

Another day done..................

Another day done..................

**************************************************

All is well at Mountain Meadows this fine Sunday morning……………….


